To Pee, or how to pee? That IS the question…


Wed. 9/1: Today was just one of those days that I thought would never end. You know, the kind where you just want to throw a dish on the ground and hear it crash and then watch it splatter in a million pieces just to make you feel better… We have been under a little bit of stress lately with work. We are keeping busy enough for sure, but the busyness is not turning into sales, which is pretty frusterating since we work so hard to get the ones we have. But anywho, I am going off on a tangent here and this blog is about training so I’ll shut up about work now. Thanks for letting me have my 30 second “vent.”

This evening hubby and I went to the Suwanee Greenway. He walked and I jogged. We went for half an hour- which was fine since my bladder was getting the best of me again. I am really serious… How does one pee (or for you southerner’s out there: “tee tee”) on a 26 miles run? SERIOUSLY?! Because I am really concerned about this! I think it is one of the biggest things I am worried about with this whole training thing.  I can just picture myself on the big day, armed in my Depends underwear so that I don’t have to stop in the middle of the race to jump in a bush! Nice visual, huh? My friend Lori, who has several marathons under her belt, told me that it won’t be as bad as I think and that you sweat a lot of fluid out. Yada, yada, yada… Tell that to my lima bean sized bladder after drinking a bottle of water!

I really need to get a good pedometer and quick. I have no idea how far I jogged today, but I am going to guess it was probably close to 2 ½ to 2 ¾ miles since I maintained at least the same pace I do on the treadmill and I did not take any walk breaks. Pounding the real pavement wasn’t so bad and I enjoyed being outside. I would say that I was glad for the company except since I was jogging I kept getting way ahead of honie pie so I was basically on my own. I was glad to have him behind me though because I am so paranoid about jogging/running in a park alone. You hear all those horror stories on the news and the last thing I want to be is one of those chicks that you hear about who got attacked by some freak or bitten by a rabid dog.

I go to get my shoes tomorrow and I have had more confirmations from other people that Phidippides is the place to go. I am really excited about the experience and can’t wait to share it. Maybe they can tell me what to do about the bladder thing too…

I have one little tiny confession to make. Tonight we ate at Mellow Mushroom, which I am sure overrode any of the jogging I did this evening. But man, it was worth it!

I want to thank those of you who are taking time out to read this and for the ones who even sent me some great links and advice. I promise I will take a look at all of it.

Until tomorrow… “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss it you will land among the stars.”  -Les Brown

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Pee, or how to pee? That IS the question…

  1. Christie says:

    I think there is a medication you can get from the doctor. Its only intended for use over short periods of time, special events, occasions, etc. maybe ditropan? Talk to your doctor 🙂 Love you sissy!

Leave a Reply

