Eat my dust! (Or, was it the other way around?!)


Sat. 9/11: I did it! Wahhoooo! I ran and finished my first real 5k race. I was bringing up the rear with the last half of runners, but still, I DID IT! My time was 32:39, which is my fastest time yet. I am so very glad that many of you talked me into doing a 5k first. I really was planning on doing the 10k instead, but I listened to your advice and am very thankful that I didn’t decide to humiliate myself on my first run. It was harder than I thought and this race had some hills in it that I wasn’t quite prepared for. Luckily, I finished with no injuries and several hours later, I am still feeling fine.

Made one small mistake along the way- I didn’t want to run on an empty stomach so I glugged down a protein shake before leaving the house. Not a real smart thing to do, by the way! I couldn’t remember if I was supposed to eat carbs or protein beforehand and since I had no time to eat food, I decided to do the protein shake. Towards the end of the race, my side started cramping up so I had to do a lot more fast walking than jogging. Live and learn. After talking to a few people afterwards, I learned that you definitely eat a small amount of carbs prior, NOT protein!

If I can figure out how to get my camera phone photo onto my computer, I will upload a pic of me at the starting line. Unfortunately, I didn’t bring my regular camera (I am so bummed about that) and hubby didn’t know that he had to hit a “save” button on my phone to keep the picture he took of me sprinting to the finish line. He said it was a really good one too. I guess I’ll just have to his word on that one. Next time, I’ll definitely be more prepared! I am going to keep my runner # and I have dated the back of it with my time so I can keep track. I am actually looking forward to doing another one soon. Am I getting the bug? Not sure about that, but I do know I am feeling pretty groovy in my new 5k t-shirt today.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover” – Mark Twain

This entry was posted in A Journey to a marathon, Marathon Training Blog, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eat my dust! (Or, was it the other way around?!)

  1. Ken says:

    Congrats Michelle, I’ve been doing running off and on and I would be very happy with that time! Good job!

    KP

  2. Norma Wildes says:

    Congratulations, Michelle…you are definitely on your way. I enjoy reading your
    BLOG…

  3. Norma Wildes says:

    You are on your way to accomplishing your goal, Michelle. I know you can do it…

Leave a Reply

