Why does my back smell like Crest?


Fri. 9/9: Top this! I have a funny for you… Wed. night I went to go brush my teeth before bed. I grabbed my toothpaste out of the drawer and proceeded to put it on my toothbrush and scrub as usual. All of the sudden, my mouth started going numb. I went to rinse out my mouth because it was totally tasting awful. What was wrong here? Turns out I had stuck my Icy Hot in the same drawer as my toothpaste and well, yes, I accidentally brushed my teeth with it! I DO NOT recommend you try this yourself! (LOL) Luckily, I was able to rinse my mouth out pretty quickly and I didn’t get sick or anything. I couldn’t stop laughing at myself once I realized what I had done. To my defense, the tube was not facing with the label in the front so really did look like my toothpaste. So now my back smells like Crest and my mouth is sore no more- ha ha.

Last night I completed my goal for the week. I did 6 miles in one run! It took me 1 hr. and 20 minutes so yes, I am very slow. I jog / walked because I could not do the whole thing without slowing down. I was very winded. The Jeff Galloway “way” is to do the walk/run anyway. I’ll explain more later, but since I am short on time this evening, I will move on…

This afternoon I went and picked up my racing packet. It came with a t-shirt and some little goodies. I am runner #367. I’m not sure if that means there are at least 367 people running this 5k or if it is just a random #. All I know is that they told me that I should get there by 7:30am (YUK!) for the 8am start.  It is pretty exciting since I have never done this before. In fact, I have never been involved in any type of  sports ever, so this is all new to me. It’s kind of cool to be a part of something that so many others are doing. I am really looking forward to tomorrow and am glad I am not feeling achy after my run yesterday. That was the one thing I was most concerned about- waking up in pain. I am hoping that because I will be “competing” with others, that it will motivate me to run faster than I ever have on my own. I am glad I decided to do the 5k first instead of a 10k run. It will give me a good idea of what to expect on future runs. I plan on doing another 5k and at least one 10k and ½ marathon before going full throttle with the marathon.

It’s late, so I guess I had better close out for the evening. It’s an early start tomorrow and I need to get to bed. I have got to check to see if there are ever any night runs because early AM and me do not mix!)

Here’s my quote for today- “In running, it doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say, ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that.” -Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon co-founder

This entry was posted in A Journey to a marathon, Marathon Training Blog, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why does my back smell like Crest?

  1. Liz says:

    Michelle,

    You’re doing a great job with your blogs! I’m proud of you for going full force toward your new hobby and goals! I’ll power walk with you – but can’t run. Well, I could try, but I won’t last very long 🙂 Good luck on your 5K today!!

    • squirlygrl says:

      TY Liz! I appreciate all the encouragement I can get. When I ran the 5k today I felt soooooo slow as I saw all these people blow by me, but I just kept thinking to myself, “It’s okay, this is only my first race and all I need to do is finish and go as fast as I can.” And I did it. I gave it my best so that’s all I can expect of myself! And yes, would LOVE to walk with you next week!

Leave a Reply

