Still plugging along…


Wed. 9/29: Tonight I got myself registered for my second 5k race. I am looking forward to seeing if I can quicken my time from my first race, but this run will be a bit different since most of it will be run on trails and not on pavement. I am not sure how that will bode for my race time.

I have been continuing to do cross training two times a week at the gym for 30 minutes each session and last night I jog/ walked 5 miles on the big loop hill in my neighborhood. The knees started hurting again so I am going to have to come up with a new plan. The “hill” is like a mini mountain and the incline is insane, so jogging it is pretty stupid. I know it’s good for endurance, but maybe I should only be walking it instead? If anyone has any tips, I’d be glad to hear them.

I have still not found a running group to join and I am at my wits end with trying to find someone to partner with to do longer runs with me. I really thought I’d have found at least one person to jog with by now! So frustrating because it’s so boring on my own and really, I am concerned about safety as well.

I have to figure out this whole mp3/ I-pod thing too. I have no running music and I think that would help motivate me to go faster if I had a “beat” to go with! I bought hubby an Mp3 player for Christmas a few years ago and he has barely used it. Time to dust it off and figure how to get some tunes on it…

There are two other runs I am looking at doing- A 10k and a ½ marathon. The ½ marathon is actually at the end of October, while the 10k is in November two weeks later. I know it is kind of crazy to do the ½ marathon first, but I am seriously considering it because of the location. I know it sounds like a silly thing, but if you are reading this, will you please pray for me about it? If I can get through the ½ marathon, I think it will definitely make me more confident about signing up for the full marathon at Disney in January 2011. That is the one I really want to do.

 I wish I had something funny to talk about today, but alas, nothing funny tell. No more brushing teeth with Icy Hot (thank goodness!) and although the road still makes my butt look big, I’m not laughing about it anymore. I can’t believe that after all the exercising I am now doing, that I have not lost not one single stinking pound!

And on that note, I leave you with this, “Bite off more than you can chew, then chew it.” – Ella Williams

(Maybe that’s why I haven’t lost any weight?!)

This entry was posted in A Journey to a marathon, Marathon Training Blog, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

